top of page

LITTLE MIKE: All Heart (Part 2)

un·der·dog: noun \ˈən-dər-ˌdȯg\

: a person, team, etc., that is expected to lose a contest or battle

: a less powerful person or thing that struggles against a more powerful person or thing (such as a corporation)

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/underdog

There’s something about the underdog that people are infatuated with, myself included. Maybe they see themselves in that role or maybe they just like seeing it stuck to the “man." Either way, people are drawn to the underdog.

In 2012, Little Mike played the role of the underdog to perfection. He was the Rudy Ruettiger of turf racing. He was the 1980 US Men's Olympic Hockey Team chopping down the evil Russian empire. OK, I won’t go that far but, to that point, he wasn’t the favorite in any of the three richest American turf races he won. Think about that for a second.

Little Mike went from promising allowance winner to Breeder’s Cup Turf champion - a true rags to riches story. The gritty gelding gained a loyal following, not only in South Florida but all around the country. I’m one of his most loyal followers, which inspired me to write this series on him for DanonymousRacing.com. But, as such a dedicated Little Mike fan, his 2013 campaign was so incredibly difficult to watch.

Coming off a Breeder’s Cup Turf victory and a champion 2012 season, the sky was the limit for Little Mike in 2013, or so I thought. Unfortunately, it didn’t go according to plan. Trainer Dale Romans and Little Mike’s owners decided to take a shot at the $10-million Dubai World Cup, halfway around the world. The decision would prove costly and set the tone for a disappointing 2013 campaign. I remember thinking to myself “that’s asking for a lot, but I guess if any horse could do it, it'sLittle Mike." It was one of the first times I really doubted him.

The first step was to see how Little Mike would handle the all weather surface at Meydan in the Al Maktoum Challenge in March. He had never before run on a synthetic surface and it showed. After leading in the latter stages of the race, he faded to finish eighth in a field of 13. Figuring Little Mike had little chance at the World Cup, it was decided to switch him back to grass for the $5-million Dubai Duty Free. After all, the Spanish Steps gelding had already won $2-million plus races on turf in his career. It was an extremely tough spot for Little Mike, but he had done the impossible before.

He was facing the best turf horses from around the world and just didn’t look like himself. I knew not to doubt him, but I was concerned, to say the least. After traveling more than seven thousand miles, running poorly in the Al Maktoum and posting just one good work on the Meydan grass, the odds were stacked against him. Ultimately, they proved to be too much. Even with veteran jockey Gary Stevens aboard, Little Mike finished a disappointing 11th, turning an ankle in the process.

I was fortunate enough to be able to ask Nick Vaccarezza, son of owner and trainer Carlo Vaccarezza, about some of the factors that contributed to Little Mike’s performance in Dubai.

“Dale Romans, our former trainer, said that Little Mike grabbed a quarter during the big race in Dubai. On top of that I just think he didn't like flying 16-hours. That's really hard on a horse to do that," Vaccarezza said.

It was time to give Little Mike a well deserved rest and hope he could regain his championship form.

After the disheartening trip to Dubai, Little Mike spent the next three months rehabilitating and resting at Winstar Farms in Versailles, KY. Once again, the gritty gelding would have to overcome some serious obstacles. Breeder and co-owner Carlo Vacarezza picked four specific races which would end with a defense of Little Mike's 2012 Breeder’s Cup Turf title. The four races started with the Grade-1 United Nations Stakes at Monmouth Park. Even though he was coming off an injury and some less than spectacular races, Little Mike was made the favorite. In typical Little Mike fashion, he broke sharply and set the pace on the inside. He had the lead on the far turn but faded in the final furlong to finish 4th. All things considered, it was a nice prep for his title defense of the Arlington Million. Personally, I was happy with his performance and couldn’t wait to see him in person, as he returned to my home track.

After finishing 8th, 11th and 4th in his three Grade-1 races in 2013, Little Mike headed back to Arlington Park to attempt to become the first back-to-back winner in the 32 year history of the Arlington Million. I was lucky enough to be there. The Million has become something of a tradition for my family, friends and myself. I actually took the Little Mike photo above at last year’s Million. It is my favorite racing day of the year and something that I really look forward to with indescribable excitement. If you ever get the chance, I highly recommend the trip to Arlington Park for Million Day. It’s a fantastic racing facility and a guaranteed great time. But I digress. Back to Little Mike.

The competition looked stiff in the 2013 Million. I thought it was a much tougher field than the year prior. From the Euro shippers to the Ramsey’s Real Solution, Little Mike and Joel Rosario would have their hands full. As usual, Little Mike broke sharply and set the pace early but he faced pressure around the far turn. He was able to regain the lead but didn’t have his usual kick down the stretch, giving way to finish 6th.

From a handicapping perspective, I still bet with my mind, rather than my heart, and scored with The Apache and Real Solution. For the first time, I had bet against my guy Little Mike. I won’t lie to you, I enjoyed cashing those tickets. But after the euphoria wore off, I began to worry. Had the Dubai trip taken too much out of Little Mike? He looked like he had lost a step and he still hadn’t qualified for the Breeder’s Cup Turf to defend his title. He had one more chance to do it, in the Joe Hirsch Turf Classic in late September at Belmont Park.

Not many people gave Little Mike a chance in the Joe Hirsch. He was facing Real Solution and Big Blue Kitten, two horses that had beaten him soundly before. Little Mike found himself playing underdog again. He was fifth choice at 7-1. I sat this race out and just wanted to root for my guy in hopes that he’d put up a fight. In what would turn out to be an instant classic - and one of my favorite races in recent memory - a nose would decide Little Mike’s future.

With Mike Smith aboard, Little Mike oddly sat off the pace, biding time. He went three wide around both turns, overtook the pacesetter at the top of the stretch and opened up, with both Big Blue Kitten and Real Solution in hot pursuit. Little Mike dug in gamely, as Big Blue Kitten bore down on his inside. They hit the wire in a photo finish. Just a few seconds earlier, I had been yelling at my TV, “Hold on, Little Mike! Hold on, buddy!” Now, I was sitting in stunned silence.

There’s something about being an underdog that Little Mike embraces. Just when you think this horse is finished, he proves you wrong. It’s just, for lack of a better word, incredible. The gritty gelding managed to win the Joe Hirsch by a nose.

“I think the Joe Hirsch was a great race. We needed that win just to tell us if Mike is the old Mike," Nick Vaccarrezza said.

"Once they turn for home in a Grade-1 and your horse opens up a lead, you gotta be screaming your head off. Big Blue Kitten is a great horse and almost got Mike.”

After an amazing performance, Little Mike had qualified for the BC Turf and it was on to Santa Anita to defend his crown!

The 2013 Breeder’s Cup Turf was stacked: The Fugue, Magician, Indy Point, Real Solution, Big Blue Kitten, Point Of Entry, all trying to take down the champ, Little Mike. Once again, he was playing underdog, and rightly so. He was facing some fantastic horses and, other than the Joe Hirsch victory, he was having a rough year. If Little Mike was going to have a fairytale ending to 2013, he needed pace, more pace and a lot of luck.

Little Mike broke well with speed but was forced to stalk, with longshot Teaks North setting the pace. He took the lead in the second turn and looked to be in a great position at the top of the stretch, however he had a half dozen horses on his tail. With Vagabond Shoes and The Fugue to his outside, Little Mike dug in but just couldn’t get it going. He gave way in the final 150-yards, finishing 7th. There would be no epic comeback title defense for Little Mike and his loyal fans.

I asked Nick Vaccarezza what he felt the difference was between Little Mike’s performance in 2012 and 2013.

“I think Little Mike was not in the best spot for his repeat. Let the horse on the front end tire himself out going that fast. Don't try to speed him up and set up the race for closers. I think in 2012, Ramon [Dominguez]rode him perfectly and I think that Ramon was the greatest rider I've ever seen ride.”

Romans and Vaccarezza felt comfortable enough with his performance in the BC Turf that they shipped Little Mike to Hong Kong for the Longines Hong Kong Cup in December. I, personally, found the move to be a little bit puzzling after the trip to Dubai. Nonetheless, I wasn’t going to abandon my fandom for my favorite gelding. I watched, hoping he’d come back safe and sound.

Only one American thoroughbred has ever won the Longines Hong Kong Cup - Val’s Prince in 1997, who also happened to be Florida-bred. The 2000-meter race over the turf at Sha Tin Racecourse features some of the best turf horses in the world. There was no class break for Little Mike, but no quit from him either. He raced close to the lead through most of the Cup but couldn’t go with the late runners. He faded late and finished 9th. It was a difficult, yet seemingly fitting, conclusion to what had been an extremely tough year for Little Mike.

Looking back, the one thing I can say about Little Mike’s 2013 is that there was no quit in him. From Dubai to Hong Kong, every time he took to the track Little Mike gave it his all. He left it all on the track. As a fan, that’s all you can ask for, aside from the obvious hope for safe trips and good health. Personally, I think Little Mike can get back to being a Grade-1 winning Thoroughbred.

I’ll talk more about this in part 3 of our series, but after talking with Nick Vaccarezza, I really like how they are handling Little Mike so far this year and putting his health first and foremost. I think the quality over quantity approach at this point of Little Mike’s career will ultimately benefit everyone involved. Most of all, a champion Thoroughbred who has meant so much to his fans and the family who gave him the chance to become a champion. Like I said before, 2013 was a tough year & hard to watch, but if any horse can regain his championship form it’s Little Mike. The little horse is all heart.

Stay Tuned For Part 3:

*Special thanks to Nick Vaccarezza for taking the time to answer a few of my ?’s

Thanks Nick!

RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page